High Plains Chapter of the AMS/NWA
Minutes of the Regular Meeting
December 6, 2001
There were 14 attendees.

Bruce Entwistle called the meeting to order at 1:00 p.m. The secretary was not present and the minutes of the October meeting was unavailable. The reading of the minutes was postponed.

Mike Moritz presented the treasurer's report. He stated the final net loss from the 5th High Plains Conference was $730.23. A slightly lower than projected attendance and airfare costs were the primary reason. The current balance in the bank is $1924.70. The treasurer's report was approved as read.


Minority Scholarship. Bruce Entwistle, president, mentioned the AMS Minority Scholarship correspondence he received. He wanted to have a representative from each office send the information to each school in their respective CWFA. John Stoppkotte, Jim Johnson and Mike Moritz volunteered to distribute the information within their CWFAs.

Absentee Voting. Rick Ewald brought up the idea of proxy voting for members not present at the next meeting. The president stated we needed a quorum in attendance to vote at the next meeting for 2002 officers. If a quorum was not present, voting could be done by email. Mike Moritz suggested we send out ballots to each 2002 member and have them returned at the next meeting for counting. A motion was made to send out 2002 officer voting ballots to each member via email. The member would print out the ballot, fill it out, put it in a sealed envelope and sign the outside. One person from each office would return all of the ballots cast to an election committee at the next meeting. The election committee, made up of one person from each office not up for election , would count the ballots. The motion passed.

Officer Nominations. Nominations were made for 2002 officers. The nominees are:
John Stoppkotte - President
Bruce Entwistle - President
Jared Guyer - Vice President
Jim Johnson - Vice President
Tim Burke - Secretary
Aaron Dorn - Secretary
Mike Moritz - Treasurer

Future Meeting Locations. Discussion was had about the satisfaction of the meeting location in Norton. A show of hands was asked, and the membership generally deemed the location in Norton as acceptable. Rick Ewald expressed some concern that we should not limit our location just to Norton, especially if we need more sophisticated facilities for future speakers. The membership agreed future meetings could be moved to another location if desired.

6th High Plains Conference. Jim Johnson gave a brief report on the progress of the 6th High Plains Conference in Dodge City slated for October 9-11, 2002. High plains severe weather will likely be the primary topic, but aviation and special emergency manager's session will be included. Charles A. Doswell III will be the keynote speaker. He will be paid $500 honoraria, in addition to travel expenses. Contacts to the Ken Crawford had been made to speak regarding the OK FIRST system. John Stoppkotte suggested contacting Eve Gruntfest at the University of Colorado in Colorado Springs as a possible guest speaker. Her topic may be "The Societal Impact of National Weather Service Warnings". The meeting sites have been booked and a preliminary announcement will come out within one to two months. Kevin Lynott asked if only Dodge City members were on the conference committee. Jim Johnson stated anyone was welcome to help out.

Rick Ewald made a motion to adjourn the meeting at about 1:45 p.m. The motion was passed unanimously. The next meeting time has not been set yet.

Respectfully submitted,

Michael L. Moritz, Treasurer John Stoppkotte, Vice President