Minutes of the High Plains AMS/NWA Chapter Meeting

June 13, 2012

A teleconference/GoToMeeting of the High Plains Chapter of the AMS/NWA was held at Noon on June 13th, 2012.  President Chris Foltz of Goodland, KS served as the leader of this GoToMeeting.  There were 14 High Plains members logged into the call.  This meeting started with a presentation by Jason Ahsenmacher of North Platte, NE.  His subject was "Vorticity Aspects of Case Studies of Rapid Cyclogenisis."  Occurrences of rapidly forming cyclones are relatively rare, but can produce significant weather.  One case Jason reviewed was from February 28th-29th, 2012.  In this event in western Nebraska, a major winter storm occurred, as well as did a few tornadoes.  He emphasized low level moisture is an important factor in rapid cyclogenisis.  Another forecasting tool which might lead to earlier rapid formation of cyclones is the dprog/dt, defined as the "change in forecast over time, for a given date".  Further, Jason found that the model QPF in these situations is poor.  Jason Ahsenmacher answered a few questions at the end of his presentation. 

Our business meeting started at 1:07 PM.  Rick Ewald, the SOO at Hastings, NE gave the treasury report, in absence of the treasurer.  Our Chapter balance was approximately $6000, with about $2000 in the Jim Johnson Scholarship Fund.  Mike Umscheid is still working with Jim Johnson on getting the forms in line to submit to the IRS for our Chapter to be tax exempt.  Our Jim Johnson Scholarship winner for 2012 was Conner Dennhardt, of Grand Island, NE.  Conner will attend the University of Nebraska and will major in meteorology.  Conner stopped by the Hastings WFO and the staff enjoyed meeting him, prior to presenting him with the scholarship.  Check out more information on Conner, with pictures, on our web site:  http://www.highplains-amsnwa.org

Our next meeting is planned for August 8th, and may possibly be a face to face meeting.  Drop President Chris Foltz an email on how many can attend.

Chris Foltz, President
Tim Burke, Secretary