The High Plains NWA/AMS Chapter Minutes

21 July 2016


The NWA/AMS High Plains Chapter held a virtual meeting on Thursday, July 21st over the phone and began around 200pm.  There were a total of 18 chapter members on the call.   There was no old business that was brought up and the remainder of the meeting consisted of an update on the High Plains Conference in August.  Cory Martin from the North Platte office informed the group that all the Keynote speakers have been lined up and that part of the conference is ready to go. Josh Worman the keynoter speaker for the banquet will be bringing up one of his Doppler on Wheels during the conference.  As of now there are 20 people presenting at the conference.  An e-mail has been sent out to everyone who has registered to attend the banquet allowing them to select what they would want to eat that evening.  Another e-mail will be sent out for presenters to upload their presentations via google drive.  In addition, presentations will be available for everyone to see after the conference is complete.  There are only 2 student presenters this year and the SOO’s attending the conference will be the judges. The winning student will be payed a 600 dollar scholarship for their college expenses.  There will be an open house and registration for the conference at the North Platte office Tuesday night from 7-8pm. The social hour before the banquet will start at 5pm and last until 7pm.  Travel arrangements are being finalized for the keynote speakers. Two of the speaker’s expenses will be paid for by NWS travel funds. The other speakers will still need their hotel, mileage, and meals paid for by the chapter or funding from the NWS.  Last, the agenda for the conference will be sent out within the next week.  The meeting then concluded around 220pm.



William Taylor                                                                                                                                    Wesley Hovorka

President                                                                                                                                            Secretary