The High Plains NWA/AMS Chapter Minutes

15 May 2018


The NWA/AMS High Plains Chapter held an in person meeting at the Norton Library on Tuesday, May 15th and began around 1130am.  There were a total of 14 chapter members that were able to attend this meeting.   The only old business that was brought up was that there was a unanimous vote yes to transfer extra money from the general fund into the Jim Johnson Scholarship fund. This way the Jim Johnson Fund won’t run out of money within the next couple of years.  An update to the 20th High Plains Conference in Hastings was then discussed. Keynote speakers are expected to be Jeff Piotrowski (storm chaser), Jared Guyer (from SPC), and Mark Roberson (from University of Nebraska in Lincoln).  They still plan on having a panel of guests instead of a 4th keynote speaker consisting of TV mets, EMs, WCMs, superintendents, and someone from Central Region NWS.  Dates for the event will be August 7-9 with a severe weather workshop on the night of the 7th.  The conference room at the Wilson Center has been booked and hotel rooms have been blocked off at the Holiday Inn Express and Comfort inn in Hastings.  The Hastings office is still looking for people to present at the conference.  If you are interested in presenting, please submit abstracts as soon as possible!  Cost for attending the conference will once again be $75 with $25 for the banquet Wednesday night. College students who attend will have their conference fee waived if they present and half price if they will only attend.  Shawn Jacobs then gave a presentation on what he has done as an Incident Meteorologist (IMET) for the NWS. This presentation consisted of what an IMET does while deployed, where he has been deployed, and how many days he is usually deployed for each event. Please see attached PDF for more information. After the presentation, the meeting then came to a close around 1240pm. The next High Plains Chapter meeting is expected to be in a couple of months.


Jeremy Martin                                                                                                                                  Wesley Hovorka

President                                                                                                                                            Secretary